LS Series Tech 1998-2002

New here. Just bought a camaro

Search this Thread

Old 06-21-2009, 09:50 PM
Default New here. Just bought a camaro

Hey all,

My name is Mike and im from california. My wife needed a practial car with 4 seats. All of our cars are 2 seaters. So to get a 4 seater, we bought a 2002 Camaro SS. Its a fun car to drive. It also smokes my vette. Im new to the LS1 motor. I dont know anything about it. Any tips you can give me? My vette has an L98. So this is new technology to me. Paid 9K for this last friday. Any info you can tell me about my wifes car will be appriaced. First time in life that my wife drives a faster car than me.

Old 06-21-2009, 09:54 PM
Default more pics

Old 06-21-2009, 09:58 PM
Default Noob

Im in a corvette forum and a harley forum also. How many posts to loose the noob status?

Corvette Mike

Old 06-23-2009, 08:40 AM

You got a very nice lookin' car there. I love my 00 SS. I was blown away by the ride, handling and performance having owned every previous model of the camaro. For me, this car is a keeper as long as they still sell gasoline and I'm taking care of mine by fixing anything and everything that ever gets broken or worn out.

This is what I would have liked to know earlier:
1. If you find that your oil consumption is a bit more than you think it ought to be, its because there is a design flaw with the PCV system and oil travels through the line and gets sucked into your intake. There are a few folks selling an inline catch can (there's another name for it). This can also cause a bit of smoke once in a while when you really put your foot into it. It can make you believe that you need new rings. Usually there is nothing wrong with your car.
2. Find and download the tips for changing your spark plugs. The right bank is a real pain in the tail to do yourself.