Computer & Fuel Systems Talk about the control module, fuel systems and delivery, customization and more.

Issues with missing and codes

Old 12-10-2011, 04:01 PM
Default Issues with missing and codes

So where to begin? I am trying to figure out what the issue with my 2000 V6 3.8L is.

edit: So just to add, I checked the fuel pressure at it is at 42 psi on the rail. From what I was reading I should be at 44 to 46 psi, not sure if that extra 2 psi would matter. (I am new to working on motors) I am honestly starting to wonder if my fuel pump might be going out.

Problem:
For a while now I will get what feels like missing when accelerating. At times while idling at a light I will have the same missing feeling which leads to bogging out and the vehicle dieing. I can usually turn the key and my car will start right back up. The other day my wife was driving and while she was cruising on the freeway, everything just cut off and she had to roll to a stop on the side of the road. She turned the key and nothing, almost like a dead battery. She got the car towed home and by the time I got home from work, the car started right up and still starts up. Right now it is having a sluggish start, but starts non the less. The entire time I have been having the missing issue I have not had a loss of fuel economy (at least a noticeable loss).

My attempt to diagnose and fix:
So I bought a OBD II reader and received a couple of codes which all lead to the O2 sensor on the driver side up stream. I replaced the O2 sensor along with all spark plugs and wires and cleared the codes. Problem still exist. No codes popped up for about a week and then the check engine light came on and I checked again.

I now have codes:
P0102: (MAF) mass airflow circuit low input
P1133: HO2S Insufficient Switching
P1514:
Throttle Body Performance