Computer & Fuel Systems Talk about the control module, fuel systems and delivery, customization and more.

Fuel Injectors not injecting

Search this Thread

Old 12-08-2011, 09:07 PM
In the Staging Lanes
Default Fuel Injectors not injecting

I need help! I bought a 91 camaro rs. Its a 305 tpi and it isn't firing the injectors. When I first got it it would only inject fuel when i was pushing down on the gas pedal, so I thought it was a fuel pressure problem. I replaced the fuel pump. Well, that just screwed me all up. After that the injectors wouldn't inject fuel into the engine. It is getting fuel all the way up to the injectors. Well, I thought maybe the injectors were bad, so I got new. But I actually got a whole new throttle body with injectors and a pressure regulator included. Well, still no firing on the fuel injectors. Any help?

I'm a handy mechanic, but only ever worked with carbs, first tpi I ever worked on.

Old 12-08-2011, 11:10 PM
April 2011 ROTM
ROTM Winner's Club

did you check the injector fuse/s? pick up a noid light and see if they are being told to fire.

Old 12-09-2011, 09:36 AM
In the Staging Lanes

When the ignition is on they get power to one wire on each side. Should it pulse when I am cranking the engine?

Old 12-09-2011, 09:38 AM
In the Staging Lanes

Yes, I checked the fuses under the driver dash. they are all good. Are there more fuses other places?

Old 12-09-2011, 10:11 AM
April 2011 ROTM
ROTM Winner's Club

im not sure on the 91 but there should be a fuse box under the hood.

Old 12-09-2011, 10:29 AM
In the Staging Lanes

I don't see one. Just the fuel pump relay. There is no actual box. Just under the dash inside the car.

I did find something interesting. The car doesn't have the original filler tube on the gas tank. It is replaced with a rubber connector so it can flex... that wouldn't cause a drop in pressure would it? It is sealed with hose clamps and doesn't leak.

Old 12-09-2011, 10:46 AM
April 2011 ROTM
ROTM Winner's Club