Electrical fault help

Search this Thread

Old 04-16-2017, 05:30 PM
Default Electrical fault help

Hi All,

I got my 67 Camaro 2 days ago and seem to have inherited an electrical fault. I'm not experienced working on cars, though understand the basics, so have attempted to track this fault myself and got stuck. I'll describe what I'm seeing here in the hope that someone can point me towards how to locate the fault.

The day after I got the car, it wouldn't start. Nothing, not even the clicking sound. Replaced the battery, she started & I thought that was it. Day 3, the interior light won't turn out when the doors are shut and the radio won't turn off and I need a jump start coming home.

I started trying to locate the issue yesterday. With doors shut, everything off & all fuses pulled, there is a 2.5amp draw on the battery. I know this is coming from the wiring loom that feeds the front lights & all interior electrics, but do not know where to go from here. I also did a continuity test across the each of the two fuse points and seemed to get intermittent results to earth - different points beeping at different times.

So, I'm assuming that there is an issue before the fusebox - as I still get the 2.5A draw with them all removed, but have no clue on how to approach fault finding this & isolating the fault.

Any advice / guidance welcome.

Thanks, Paul

Old 04-16-2017, 07:16 PM
4th Gear Member

From www.camaros.net:
Since you just got the car - on these old things, turning the headlight **** all of the way CCW will turn on the interior lights, regardless of the door being open or closed. Since you pulled all of the fuses, I doubt that's your problem, but just in case you left that shorty fuse in....twist the **** clockwise.

I don't think the radio in a 67 requires the key to be on - so that sounds normal.