New Members Area New to Camaro Forums? Start here!

Greetings from Missouri!

Search this Thread

Old 12-06-2019, 03:19 PM
Smile Greetings from Missouri!

Another Newbie Here - Just joined the forum a day or two ago. I am in the Willard, Missouri area. I have always had fox body mustangs in the past. I have never been a die hard Ford/Chevy/Dodge/etc guy, I just truly like anything that looks good and runs good. I sold my last Mustang about 3 years ago, and recently I decided I wanted another fun car to play with. So, earlier this week I bought a 1986 IROC-Z (I grew up in the 80's and when I was a kid, I always said I wanted an IROC one day) - but I haven't actually taken delivery on it yet. I drove up near Davenport, Iowa to look at the car and bought it on the spot. Didn't have a way to get it home myself, so I am having an auto transport company take care of getting it home for me. I hope it arrives in one piece... Hopefully it will come in a week or so. But Ill try to attach some photos here - I have some plans for it. It is in great condition overall - 60,000 original miles. I'll probably drive it as-is for a little while as I am saving money, but eventually id like to pull the original 305 Tuned Port and replace it with something that makes more power. So I will soon have lots of questions for all of the Camaro / Chevy experts on here. Coming over from the Ford world of things, I am obviously well behind the curve on knowing about the best engine and trans combinations that work in these cars. I think I would be happy with something in the neighborhood of 500-550 HP- something that is nice and street-able, but will also be fun to make some quarter mile passes with at the local track. I'm leaning more toward an LS for the reliability and tunability, but I'm guessing I could probably save a little money if I went with a carb setup on a more basic platform.. I'll save detailed questions for later, but if anyone wants to chime in and throw out some good suggestions