LT1/LT4 Tech 1993-1997

94 lt1 problems....

Search this Thread

Old 04-27-2016, 03:02 AM
Default 94 lt1 problems....

hello everyone im new to the 4th gen f body seen....ive got a 94 camaro lt1 auto with 104,000 miles. I got it off a guy who said it had over heating problems, which it does u can start it up and let it idle and it will get hot. If u top off the radiator it will stay cool until it i guess runs whats in the radiator down some or until the thermostat opens. He thought it had a blown head gasket, but it has no white smoke coming from exhaust and appears to be no water in the oil, so is there another sign to check for head gasket? Car runs great pulls great shifts great. i think my leak may possibly be around the water pump maybe. i just would like to kno if its a head gasket or if its a water pump or what. I know these cars run hott kinda at least my 3rd gens did and it looks me be like my car only has 1 electric fan i havent really looked. It has no ac anymore someone unhooked everything for it and heater core has been bypassed i believe i really like the car i just dont wanna throw a water pump on it and that not be the problem. thanks again

Old 04-27-2016, 05:56 PM
In the Staging Lanes

do you have access to a thermal imaging camera? look for the cylinder that's cooler than all the others. Works for me every time!

on a side note, if you see a leak at the water pump, your pump has gone bad and it should be replaced. They are deceiving, mine had a small leak, and when I replaced it, the pump was definitely not working. so, I would look at that water pump...

Old 04-27-2016, 08:04 PM
April 2011 ROTM
ROTM Winner's Club

rent/pick up a coolant system pressure tester. pressure it up and look for leak. water pump would be the obvious first place to look but hoses do go bad. lt1 is tough to get all the air out of it or it will overheat. gotta bleed the crab outa it. look here https://camaroforums.com/forum/lt1-l...-system-66742/

Old 05-05-2016, 05:34 PM