General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

brake upgrade

Search this Thread

Old 01-22-2009, 10:04 PM
Default brake upgrade

Hi guys, just bought my first Camaro last week. It's a '94 with a 3.4. Yeah, I know it's not a v8, but the performance is more than satisfactory for my needs.

Anyway, I ran a quick search and didn't see any information on brake upgrades. What's the most cost effective, bang for the buck upgrade on the brake system? The stock brakes are stopping me ok, but they're not up to my expectations.

Are slotted rotors worth much extra stopping power? How about ceramic pads? How many of you have upgraded brakes? Keep in mind that I'm a broke grad student.

Old 01-22-2009, 10:46 PM
Ninja Administrator

you wont see an increase in stopping power with slots and drills unless you are exceeding their current capability. i doubt you are currently.

they have a rear disk upgrade you can do. that will do wonders since you arent working with those BS drums anymore.

sorry I cant be alot of help. people think because I staff this place I know the v6 angle and im just not too well read on it but someone will be around shortly to help out.

and welcome to the forum, from a broke undergrad to a broke grad

Old 01-23-2009, 06:37 AM

Thanks specter.

Actually, some new stock pads and rotors would probably help. The car stops ok, but I was testing the brakes on a steep grade yesterday, and I smashed them nearly as hard as I could. It didn't seem to slow down nearly as fast as it should. I was wondering if the antilock brakes were engaging, but it wasn't even close to locking up, so I doubt it. The second time I tried it, it stopped much faster.

Then again, it was pretty low on brake fluid when I got it. I wouldn't be surprised if I have some air in the lines.