93-02 V6 Tech V6 Camaro General Topics.

Newbie here 99 Camaro 3800 running problems

Search this Thread

Old 07-17-2011, 12:02 PM
Default Newbie here 99 Camaro 3800 running problems

Hi all, newbie here. I have a 1999 Camaro 3800 that has a few issues let me start from the beginning. I bought this car from a woman that I can assume since buying the car from her never knew to do anything to it but put fuel in it and have the oil changed. I'm guessing it had been sitting for atleast 6 months or more. When I got the car it had a bad, and I mean bad miss in it. It would not even stay running without your foot on gas pedal. I've replaced the following, AC Delco plugs, wires, all 3 coil packs and plate, tensioner pully, New AC Delco fuel pump and fuel filter. Since replacing all those things, the car will now run at idle with no miss but when it idles for a bout 5 min I still get a rich fuel smell and as soon as you try to drive it and give it gas it has a cough? ( thats what I call it ) and starts missing again when you take out. I know it still needs the A/C compressor replaced due to a bad bearing issue, the catalyic convertor (had checked and was told guts of it were gone) as does the muffler (rusted out). The car only has 98,900 miles on it. Am I missing something to cause it to still run bad like this? Any help is appreciated. Thanks in advance

Old 07-17-2011, 03:14 PM
In the Staging Lanes

Check to see if there is a bad injector possibly leaking or a vacuum leak maybe a bad intake gasket. U can for vacuum leak by with the engine running, spraying the intake base with either starter fluid or carb cleaner. If the rpms increase when u spray, u know its a vacuum leak. Possible a fuel pressure regulator maybe.. do u see gas on the Intake where that injectors fit in the upper intake?

Old 07-17-2011, 03:15 PM
In the Staging Lanes