82-92 V8 Tech V8 Camaro General Topics.

New third gen. owner looking for advice

Search this Thread

Old 01-03-2008, 01:39 PM
Default New third gen. owner looking for advice

I am an old dude who always wanted a Z28 and I finally bought one on ebay. Paid a whole $1500.I copied the ebay auction description below. My plans are to fix up and use the car for fun and to take to local car shows. I drove it home 130 mileswith no problems. The engine seems strong and sounds incredible. I will post some pics as soon as possible.There was some whining from drive train when decelerating. I am not a strong mechanic so I dropped the car off at my friends auto shop for his mechanics to evaluate. I will do the interior work myself and prep for paint. I may even try the paint job myself. I have a compressor but will need a spray gun. It is rust and bondo free. Anyone out there ever try to paint their own? Bad idea or worth a try?

It has a fiberglass cowl hood on it, pin down/lift off. The hood looks great,however it gets air under it and flaps and bangs against the car in a very exciting but unacceptable manner. What kind of replacement should I look for? Where would be a good place to look? How much will I have to pay? I like the look of the cowl hood and hope to find something similar that will not flop around.

I found a couple other z 28's in my area (Toledo, OH) that are candidates for aparts car. The best looking one is a 1985 and I am wondering what parts on the 85 will interchange with my 82. The other one is an 82. How can I find out what year will fit my car?

Any advice or references to get me started out right on my adventure will be appreciated. Below is the description of my car copied from the ebay auction:

Just in time for the New Year! Up for Bid is a 1982 Chevy Camaro Z28.

This car has a 3 speed automatic. The engineisrebuilt with a '68/327 Corvette Engine with only 2000 miles on it, 11.1 Piston with a 488Lift.