Car lunges at lower RPMS

Search this Thread

Old 02-16-2023, 06:59 AM
Default Car lunges at lower RPMS

Hello how is everyones day going, aorry this is a long one, eeking advice on some of the issues my car is having. I am a little new to this so excuse me if I am a rough. I have a 1978 camaro with the 350 small block, 4 speed, and I run a AVS2 carb. The guy I bought it from rebulit the engine, tranny, and rear end. every once in a while it just dies. First time it died ot would not start and I had no spark, I rebuilt the distributer and now it runs fine, still dies either on the road or at idle everyonce in a while, but starts right back up imediatly. Thats all for that issue.
at around 1500 to 2000 RPMs it lunges while driving and not smooth untill you get closer to 2500 RPMS I grew up driving stick so to me it just seemed like they were to low for the gear I was in, but it does it in 1st too unless I rev high, this is my 1st 4 speed so maybe I am just not use to it driving.
The engine also has a vibration that is extremly noticeable at higher RPMS at higher speeds, its not the wheels because while trying ro figure it out I pushed in the cluch and coasted for a second and it stopped, really feel it in the shifter. Any advice or help on these issues wpuld be much appreciated.

Old 02-16-2023, 09:55 AM
4th Gear Member

Does the engine have a lumpy cam or basically stock? Big cams can cause what you describe as lunging and take some getting used to.
Has this been as long as you've owned the car or a recent development?
I'd check fuel filters it may be starving for gas,is it a manual or electric fuel pump? Pump might be going bad,rubber gas lines might need replaced.
Could be vapor lock is the tank is not venting properly.
As for the vibes that could be a lot of things,when you're stepping on it hard does the shifter move sideways at all or just vibrates?
Reason I ask is it could be motor/trans mounts that are loose or broken.