Wanting to build a Camaro where do I begin?

Search this Thread

Old 05-05-2018, 11:14 AM
Default Wanting to build a Camaro where do I begin?

I'm approaching 50. I've worked on and built cars since childhood, continuously trying to elevate my skills around cars. For the past 11 years, I've focused on late model Vettes, mostly boosted in some way or with nitrous, sometimes both. I have a lot of professional experience with custom fabrication, welding, wiring and electronics, tuning, engine building, custom machining, light upholstery work, paint and body etc. I've been collecting parts for years and have enough to build another toy and I've wanted a 69 Camaro since childhood. Many of you know the vicious cycle of spending countless hours and dollars building a car, only to lose much of it when it's time to move on and sell it. I've rarely gotten into a car fixed it up and sold it for a profit and I haven't always regretted it because I often enjoy the journey. For you seasoned veterans, I'm curious if you think it's even possible to get a random 69 Camaro off the market, fix it up and sell it for a profit or even break even. I realize that's a subjective question and that it helps if I get into the car and parts at the right price, but what are the odds I can do a build and not lose my proverbial ***? If I build one, it's going to be a pro touring build, for sure. I want to build something that makes a reasonably reliable 800whp or so, something that has all the creature comforts, like A/C and even heated and air conditioned seats. Also, I was considering doing this build with the help and advice of the members here. What I mean is that I've got some ideas to toss around but was considering letting the masses decide how this build plays out, such as: do I make it turbo, twin turbo, supercharged, nitrous oxide assisted? Manual or auto? I have a couple LS motors in the shop and even a couple newer direct injected motors. I have a few automatic transmissions and also h