Detailing Discuss detailing your ride within.

Where to begin? any tips? swirl marks,stone chips, etc.

Search this Thread

Old 04-19-2008, 06:51 AM
Default Where to begin? any tips? swirl marks,stone chips, etc.

OK, so I bought my 98 last August, and to be honest just wanted to "test drive" it for awhile before I put any serious time into improving it (you know beyond the basic wipe down, wash and vacuum lol) because ... well, it's aused car with a switched out motor (from 02) and I wasn't completely trusting of it.
(knock wood) it's still running and driving like a champ. So now I'm ready tostart putting some time into it and detailing it.

I'm a complete novice to this. Actually I'm not even sure I qualify as a "novice" LOL and the paint has several issues, so I'm not sure where to begin... I've read several articles about deatiling, instruction guide type stuff but wanted to get some general input from you guys.

The issues:

I have really bad swirl marks all over the body, I'm guessing from an over enthusiatic previous owner who didn't know how to use a buffer. They are highly visible, but I can't feel them at at all.

I also have several (proabably about 10-20 ) tiny rock / stone chips in the hood and various other parts of the body. Most are down to bare metal, or seem to be. Pretty sure I can fix these myself. I'm painter (though not auto-body) and have some experience I might be able to carry over. Thinking layering in touch up paint, then wet sanding to smooth. (?)

The third issue is one I'm REALLY not sure about. I have a clear coat issue on my back bumper. Looks like someone backed into something (at some point) and cracked the clear coat, it's basically spider-webbing on that spot... and i'm not sure what if anything I can do about it?

Mostly though I am just not sure what order I should try to address all these issues in,and what products are best?