Stripped bolts on fender of 1969 Camaro

Search this Thread

Old 09-25-2010, 05:13 PM
Default Stripped bolts on fender of 1969 Camaro

I'm a newbie at cars and resotoration......so here's a question for all of you that are hands on and have done restoration work yourselves.....I'm trying to get the bolts off/loosened up on the front fender of a 1969 Camaro. The bolts under the wheel well are stripped. How do I get them off? Or can I? Should I just leave it to a professional? I'm trying to get the front fenders off so I can take off the "Camaro" emblem on each side. But I can't even get the fenders loosened up or off for that matter because of those stupid bolts that are stripped. Any suggestions??

Thanks
Don

Old 09-26-2010, 02:05 PM

If you are removing the fenders then you can remove the fenders and the wheel house together if you have several of the metal clips that broke causing the bolts to turn and not loosen. Post a photo of the front of your car and list your intentions. Are you doing a complete restoration???, are you just trying to remove the emblems for paint... I will be glad to offer any advise I can.

Old 09-26-2010, 07:11 PM

I want to remove the emblems on the front fenders. The bolts I'm referring to are under the wheel well....do I have the correct bolts for removing the emblems? Maybe I have the wrong bolts.

Name:  SAM_0085.jpg
Views: 2275
Size:  156.6 KB

Originally Posted by sunoco67
If you are removing the fenders then you can remove the fenders and the wheel house together if you have several of the metal clips that broke causing the bolts to turn and not loosen. Post a photo of the front of your car and list your intentions. Are you doing a complete restoration???, are you just trying to remove the emblems for paint... I will be glad to offer any advise I can.

Old 09-26-2010, 10:00 PM