PCV valve

Search this Thread

Old 11-06-2022, 03:03 PM
Default PCV valve

Newbie here...
So, I just bought a 1965 Corvette restomod, and it has a re-built 1967 Camaro SS 396 in it. FWIW, it has a Holley 770 Street Avenger carb...
Currently, there's two breathers; one on each valve cover. Typically, should there be a PCV valve on the driver side??..... Also, what about a crankcase vent elbow and hose on the passenger side attached to air cleaner base??
Thanks

Old 11-06-2022, 05:38 PM
4th Gear Member

Big blocks can pump quite a bit of oil mist out the breathers when run hard and if there's a hose to the aircleaner it can saturate the filter.
That's probably why it's just got breathers and no hoses connected.
The breathers on the valve covers will let it just vent to the atmosphere although some may end up on the valve covers.
The early Chevy V-8s didn't have a PCV just a filter on the back of the block with a tube venting to the ground.
They early valve covers didn't have a bung for a breather they were sealed.

Old 11-06-2022, 06:00 PM

Thanks for the info!
So, in your opinion, do you think having or not having the hoses(and PCV) can have an affect on oil consumption?

Old 11-06-2022, 07:01 PM
4th Gear Member

Originally Posted by Jim Coscette
Thanks for the info!
So, in your opinion, do you think having or not having the hoses(and PCV) can have an affect on oil consumption?
Not so much,it has to go somewhere,some do have a catch can setup but I never used one.
It either goes out to the air or into your intake or aircleaner where it gets burned and goes out the exhaust.
It's not a big problem unless you run it hard a lot,I did with a 427 in a '69 Camaro years ago,big solid lifter cam and a lead foot. lol
Not the best daily driver but super 102 leaded was $0.99 a gallon.
I was a youngster in my 20's on a shoestring budget when I built that car.
Just had breathers on both M/T valve covers and washed off the oil after running her hard.