LT1/LT4 Tech 1993-1997

Secondary rad fan not coming on

Old 05-01-2019, 02:32 AM
2nd Gear member
Default Secondary rad fan not coming on

94 lt1 auto. So I've been chasing this problem for a couple of years now. I don't drive the car very often like I used to but my secondary cooling fan has an intermittent problem of working when it wants to. Not sure if this is just normal but my temp gauge sometimes reads just above the half way point and some times it reads about 1/3 both with the a/c on. It can be night or day long trips or short trips. The difference I noticed is the secondary fan doesn't come on when running the hotter of the two. Haynes manual shows the Ecm grounds the relay to turn on the fans. I've replaced the temp sensor and swapped the primary and sec relays around and still the same. What circuits can I check that prompts the Ecm to turn the sec fan on or is this typical for my year car? Coolant level is good and bled it several times.

Last edited by sewerrat; 05-01-2019 at 02:56 AM.
Old 05-01-2019, 03:03 AM
2nd Gear member

Never mind, found a link by Pete bout testing the fans. I'll try that first.

Old 05-02-2019, 09:13 AM
April 2011 ROTM
ROTM Winner's Club

shbox is good here is some more info on cooling system, 4th Gen LT1 F-body Tech Articles

Old 05-03-2019, 07:16 AM
4th Gear Member

It's working as it should. See here from shbox:

1993-1994 - Primary and Secondary fans that operate at only one speed. When initially commanded on, only the primary fan (driver side) comes on. It operates alone at full speed. If the temp threshold is met for addtional cooling, the secondary fan (passenger side) also is commanded on. At this point, both fans are running at full speed.
These fans use a two relay architecture that can be seen in the fuse/relay panel that is under the hood.

Last edited by MKCoconuts; 05-03-2019 at 07:18 AM.
Old 05-03-2019, 11:19 AM
2nd Gear member

Originally Posted by MKCoconuts
It's working as it should. See here from shbox: