LT1/LT4 Tech 1993-1997

***LT1 Engine Problems***

Search this Thread

Old 09-15-2009, 07:29 PM
Exclamation ***LT1 Engine Problems***

I've owned my 94 z28 for a few months now and have been happy with it since (even though I miss my suv and loud subs), but recently my LT1 hasnt been running right. I've read on countless lt1 forums and it seems that many people had the same problems have (as far as running rough as bogging), but without a clear solution. I love this car but I dont like driving it now because of the way it runs.
So first off I'm pretty familiar with lt1 engine itself (how it works, the basic layout ect), but I'm no mechanic. I do all the basics myself (oil change, intake piping, fuel filter ect), but I don't have all the tools to do anything major. So after you read my issues please let me know specific tools i'd need to fix it.
***As for the car I'll explain what I know needs fixing and some symptons the car has, so any help would be greatly apprieciated.
So about 2 months ago I drove into a deep puddle and my cold air intake sucked up some water (my heart sank). The next few days I took out/dried the DS spark plugs and changed the oil 2x. It ran badly for a few days but ran fine after that, and now it's worst than ever.
*I can hear vavle ticking when I'm on it (not so much at idle)
*engine boggs, stutters, and shakes at low and high RPM
-runs rich and backfires when I let off after getting on it
-intake elbow is in bad shape (has rips on the t.b. end)
-has about 120K with cheap Valvoline 5w30.
-exhaust leak at the front of the 'replacement cat' (it looks longer and more narrow than an OEM cat)
-had it scanned before the major problems and O2 and knock sensor code are thrown.

***I know that there are ALOT of problems to address, but please tell me its not hopeless. and I know there's many experts here so any advice would be helpfull!!

Old 09-15-2009, 08:59 PM
Senior Moderator
January 2010 ROTM Winner