General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

How To: F-Body Clutch

Search this Thread

Old 11-06-2009, 09:09 AM
Default How To: F-Body Clutch

First – I’m writing this as a reference. I don’t own, never will, or support anyone owning an Fbody . I’ve worked on them, and for the reason that almost EVERYTHING is under the dash, I usually charge a premium. Also, please note, I’m not a licensed mechanic, I take side jobs from friends and everything I’m citing is from memory. If there is a (?) next to it, I’m uncertain. That being said, I’m writing this as there really wasn’t a good walkthrough online and being a car enthusiast figured I’d give something to the community. This walkthrough is going to assume you have some basic car knowledge.

Clutch Replacement on a 2000 3.8L V6

Level of Difficulty Easy[]-----[o]---[]
I’ve done plenty of clutches before, this one is pretty normal.
Total time - 6.5 hours sans machine time.

Tools Necessary
Sockets 7-18mm, 7/16”, 12”+ (I think I used a 18”) - ½ inch drive extension, 3” and 6” - 3/8” drive extension, ½” Flex coupling
Nitryl Gloves (For more than just your hands)
Jack
4x Jack stands
Engine lift
Pry Bar
Torque wrench
Flat Screw driver

To start –