Camaro Reference, Repair and Owners Manuals Here we have reference information, repair manuals, owners manuals and other information you might find interesting

If anyone needs repair/diag info

Search this Thread

Old 04-08-2012, 10:36 PM
In the Staging Lanes
Default If anyone needs repair/diag info

I am a professional technician and have access to the factory GM site I can get things like wireing diagrams, diagnostic flow charts all that stuff. Just thought it might be able to help some people

Old 04-14-2012, 10:31 AM

Ok so i have a 96 3.8 V6 with 133k on it and its going down hill. I am wondering whether or not i should sell it and get something new or fix it up and keep it. Things i know that need done are
1. suspension- squeaks all the time and the shocks are pretty much non existent probably needs completely re done
2. Vacuum leak- everytime i accelerate you hear this loud whistling noise which we are not sure where it is coming from but think it might be the break booster
3. Exhaust rattle im pretty sure I can fix this myself but just throwing it in there
4. My antifreeze looks awful...its getting brown with chunks in it... need radiator flushed but is there a bigger problem
5. will need new window motors before too long which i could do myself but i know the motors are expensive
6. sometimes when accelerating i get a weird noise from the rear of the car not sure if its the rear end gear or whether its part of the exhaust rattle

Is there anyway you could give a rough estimate on how much these things would cost?

Old 04-15-2012, 05:08 AM
In the Staging Lanes

Most of the problems your having are no big deal

1 suspension- It's pretty easy to replace shocks so that's not a big deal I can't imagine a shop charging more then maybe 2 hours to do all 4 at most as for the noise it's impossible for me to know exactly what it is without seeing it but most shops will charge about 100 for a diag unless it's something obvious then it would be less