upgrade/general question

Search this Thread

Old 02-14-2018, 01:38 PM
Cool upgrade/general question

i have a 96 rs with the 3.8 v6 and i was wondering if it would be better the supercharge or turbo charge it and some advise on what to get. and where can i get good headers relatively cheap also i cant find this answer anywhere but do the 96 have an egr? and what are some other good upgrades for the rs for reasonably cheap. i went from a ford F250 to this rs so im just getting into the camaro community.

Old 02-14-2018, 02:47 PM
Fourth Generation Moderator
October 2009 ROTM
ROTM Winner's Club

In almost any sport that allows superchargers and turbo changers the turbos win out. The only exception to that is the top end drag racing. Turbos have come a long way and with a computer controlling them they are good at just about anything.

There is a good starter guide in the V6 tech section for mods.

Either a super charger or a turbo charger is going to cost you more then buying a 98-02 LS1 V8 and it will be slower when its done. To get a 3800 to the speed of a v8 is going to cost close to 10K, but if you bought a Ls1 car for 5k and put a 3K kit head/cam kit in it would leave the turbo V6 in the dust.

Turbo build
https://camaroforums.com/forum/93-02...o-build-79480/

You can do a budget build but that is still $2500 in china parts and $500-700 for the tune and you will drive over the crankshaft at some point. This should be for a dedicated race car only.

You have an EGR valve on the drivers side exhaust manifold

I like the OBX headers. They where under $300. They will not add a lot of HP to your top HP number but you can feel it in the mid range. Even GM agrees your manifolds are steeling power as they went to a short type header in 1998 on 3800.

Last edited by Gorn; 02-14-2018 at 06:41 PM.
Old 02-14-2018, 04:22 PM
4th Gear Member