I Need Some Opinions.

Search this Thread

Old 01-15-2011 | 11:44 PM
|
1st Gear Member
Default I Need Some Opinions.

There's this "small" dealership close by that is selling a '97 Camaro, 30th Anniversary Edition. He's asking 3,000 for it. I took it for a test drive a few months back, drove great, had lots of power, didn't feel no shimmies or shakes, no "weird" sounds coming from anywhere. Body is in pretty good shape, except a few "scuff" marks on the passenger side, but nothing major. Problem is, I know the car has been sitting @ this lot for at least the past 6 years, probably a lot more. That kind of turned me away from it, since it's never been driven for so long. The only problems I saw was a crack on the dash, the airlift on the trunk is broke, and the key lock is missing on the driver's side roof window (It's a t-top)

Now, for those who know a lot about Camaros, I'm a college student who is currently laid off from work, and I don't have loads of money. I know insurance cost would raise, and I know parts are pricey when it comes to Camaros. Can you guys give me rough estimates on what it costs you for struts, tires, exhaust, etc. and is there anything wrong with the 97 models? Any bad thing they are known for?

I have the 3 grand right now for it, but I'd feel much better if I could talk him down to 2500. Before he said he wouldn't go any lower, but if I tell him all I have is 2500 and I got laid off, and possibly show him the money, he might go for it since he's had it for so long.

Is it worth it from the sound of it? Is there anything else I should look for if I go back for another test drive?

Basically any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Old 01-15-2011 | 11:46 PM
|
1st Gear Member

Also, mileage was somewhere in the 107,xxx. Give or take a thousand. I can't remember or sure. I looked under the hood and I can tell he did a great job at cleaning it cause it was spotless.

Old 01-16-2011 | 12:21 AM
3rd Gear Member