Rebuild 5.7 or get a 454?

Search this Thread

Old 01-02-2011, 08:32 PM
Default Rebuild 5.7 or get a 454?

Just thought I'd get some opinions. I just bought a 92 RS. The car's a little banged up, a little surface rust. I was told the engine will need to be fixed/replaced. I plan on doing restoration sooner or later down the line.

My question for you guys is this; when the engine goes, should I have the stock engine rebuilt or drop in a 454 Big Block? I've got about $3000 give or take to spend on either. I love the sound of the engine now, but I've heard that some engines don't sound or perform the same after rebuilds.

If I went the 454 option, what would need to be changed? I assume at the very least the motor mounts, maybe even the radiator? I'm an amateur mechanic and I've never done anything as far as engine swaps. Most I do is change belts, fluids, brakes, tire rotations, etc. Any help is appreciated!!

Old 01-02-2011, 08:53 PM
Overdrive Member
Technical User

IMO i would drop the 454 and yes you would need motor mounts a much bigger rad (not sure if your trans would bolt up or not) swapping a motor isnt that hard as long as theres no major modifications that go along with it i could pull a motor and replace with a new one (same engine) in about 2 days im also not to sure about the electronics you might run into problems there craby cam 69 and massey are the ppl that come to mind that would have very good info

Old 01-02-2011, 08:59 PM
August 2009 ROTM
ROTM Winner's Club

With only $3,000 to spend, get the idea of a big block out of your head. Even with more money, a BBC in a 3rd gen just isn't practical.

A mildly built 350 or even 383 will more than suffice.

Old 01-02-2011, 09:04 PM
2nd Gear member

what is wrong with the engine in the first place???

Old 01-02-2011, 09:20 PM

Am I missing something here, did someone already swap a 350 into his car? If not, we're talking about his stock 5.0L here, right?