fuel line problem - Camaro Forums - Chevy Camaro Enthusiast Forum

fuel line problem

Reply

 
 
 
  #1  
Old 06-18-2011, 05:44 PM
In the Staging Lanes
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 37
Default fuel line problem

the fuel line to the fuel filter was twisted but still tried to replace the fuel filter long story short the twisted line broke, so i need to know if its possible to just by the fuel line from the fuel filter back, i called a shop and they said had to custom make one

can i buy just that one line...

and if so where does that line start?
 
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-20-2011, 11:54 AM
microkid's Avatar
March 2011 ROTM
Technical User
ROTM Winner's Club
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Biglerville, PA
Posts: 2,615
Default

the line from the filter to the tank is one peice, and needs to have the tank dropped to remove it. you may need a new tank assembly as well. i would cut off the broken peice at the next straight shot, take it in to the store to match the size. then get a length of tubing and a compression fitting and just replace a small section. next time, use two line wrenches
 
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-20-2011, 06:41 PM
In the Staging Lanes
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 37
Default

Originally Posted by microkid View Post
the line from the filter to the tank is one peice, and needs to have the tank dropped to remove it. you may need a new tank assembly as well. i would cut off the broken peice at the next straight shot, take it in to the store to match the size. then get a length of tubing and a compression fitting and just replace a small section. next time, use two line wrenches
i only had one wench and i was barly able to maneuver that while under there

why would i might need a new assembaly?

and can somebody tell me why an american car uses the metric system?

thats good usa spirit right there lets use foreign measurements lol

it broke right at the connection point

but i found a new/used line and i dont want to lay under the car and get a face full of gas when i remove that line so im might take it to a shop so my question is how long should it take to replace it and is there any other option besides towing it
 
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-21-2011, 11:39 AM
microkid's Avatar
March 2011 ROTM
Technical User
ROTM Winner's Club
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Biglerville, PA
Posts: 2,615
Default

you have to use two wrenches or else the line will break. guess you'll know that for future reference, huh? and it should not have been metric on the fuel lines, however other fasteners on the car are metric. its simply to make it less home mechanic friendly. im not sure how far the line goes until there is another connection. idk if its one peice of line from the pump to the filter, or if there is a seperation in between. no options besides towing it, and its going to be at leat $150 to get done at a shop, but you can do it for under $20. and if the filter is off, most of the gas will have drained out of the line. just make sure you left the gas cap off so the vapor pressure doesnt keep forcing fuel out
 
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-21-2011, 05:11 PM
In the Staging Lanes
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 37
Default

i found a new line that im going to pick up......but that explains why 2 days later i wake up to a garage full of gas if i remove the gas cap no more gas is goin to come out?
 
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-21-2011, 06:22 PM
djs383's Avatar
3rd Gear Member
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Arizona
Posts: 819
Default

It may still drain, but slower. Once vapor pressure builds up it'll push that fuel out of the line with pressure, not just gravity. You should have a way to at least plug it up. I used a wooded golf tee on a mustang once with vice grips....held until my new line arrived and didn't leak a drop.
 
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-22-2011, 06:03 PM
microkid's Avatar
March 2011 ROTM
Technical User
ROTM Winner's Club
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Biglerville, PA
Posts: 2,615
Default

once the fuel cap is off, the tank wont hold pressure and will keep it from forcing it out. thats why a loose gas cap is the number one cause of a check engine light
 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
raymond11926
67-69 General
1
12-20-2014 02:40 PM
manslaughter299
70-81 General
2
07-24-2012 03:17 AM
Cactus
93-02 General
6
07-18-2010 08:46 AM
albo1989
82-92 V8 Tech
2
07-09-2010 11:27 AM
libertyforall1776
93-02 V6 Tech
3
03-07-2009 08:07 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: fuel line problem


Advertising
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.