91 Camaro no crank

Search this Thread

Old 02-19-2020, 04:25 PM
Default 91 Camaro no crank

Ok. Brand new here...also 1st time using forum.
I have been working on cars for about 25 years and have lots of experience but also always learning new things.
anyway I have a 91 Camaro with the 305tbi and t5 manual. It ran but smoked and decided tip pull the 305 and go 350...I deleted the smog system and not using a/c currently....but neither of those should stop the car from cranking...I have ignition power, I've checked my key with ohmmeter at key and matched ohms at vats wire under dash. I can crank but powering the purple wire directly at starter but you can see no fuel injecting into throttle body...I'm assuming my vats has something to do with it or the vats module is faulty. I have tested 12volts from yellow wire coming from the harness just above the steering column but nothing from the tan and yellow wire that goes to the clutch safety switch Also again assuming that its vats shutting it down.
it did run fine before pulling engine and has not been under 12v power for nearly 4 months...could the vats need a hard reset or maybe it just died? Any thoughts.

Old 02-20-2020, 11:35 AM
Fourth Generation Moderator
October 2009 ROTM
ROTM Winner's Club

Is you security light on?
Will it try to start with starting fluid? AKA do you have spark. Do you have fuel pressure? Lastly is there signal to the injector. (only test with the correct noid. If you volt meter draws to much power it can fry the quad driver in the ECM.
Having a fuel pump die would be a lot more common from sitting then a Vats system.

Last edited by Gorn; 02-20-2020 at 11:37 AM.
Old 02-20-2020, 11:43 AM

Originally Posted by Gorn
Is you security light on?
Will it try to start with starting fluid? AKA do you have spark. Do you have fuel pressure? Lastly is there signal to the injector. (only test with the correct noid. If you volt meter draws to much power it can fry the quad driver in the ECM.