1989 Iroc Knock Sensor in place of Coolant Temp Sending Unit

Search this Thread

Old 04-30-2022, 05:02 PM
Default 1989 Iroc Knock Sensor in place of Coolant Temp Sending Unit

Maybe someone can help me on here. First let me say sorry if I put this in the wrong spot. A friend recently bought an 89 iroc 5.7 tpi. Unfortunately, getting a hold of the previous owner is not possible. Which sucks because I have many questions. And of course, my friend doesn't know the difference between a nut and a bolt, so he has asked me to help him with the overheating issue. I am no mechanic, I am a long line fishing captain but I have always liked to turn wrench on bikes/cars/and now 4x4's for fun. Now that all that is out of the way..

The previous owner deleted a bunch of stuff. For starters, there was no overfill reservoir for the radiator. A small cap on the radiator where the overflow hose connects. And another medium size (same size as caps on tb/intake manifold) cap just below where the upper radiator hose connects to the radiator. Caps on both ports on the throttle body, cap on the intake near the throttle body, and a plug on the top of the water pump. (Is that a bypass port on the top part of the water pump?) So basically there is an upper and lower rad hoses and not much else. 2 electric fans always running with engine. And no thermostat. I ran the system without the t-stat installed and the rad cap off to see how the water pump was working. Really strong flow.

Living in Hawaii, I have owned half a dozen Chevys all with the 4.3 and I believe I ran every one without a thermostat just fine. Although my 93 4runner ran poorly without a t-stat, it never got hot. Since its the endless summer out here, I think the caps on the throttle body should be fine. Unless I'm mistaken, the water ports on the tb are there to warm it up, like during the winter.
So I installed a new thermostat, overflow reservoir, and temp sensor (2 wire, sends ecu eng temp) on the front of the intake.