Need electrical advice!

Search this Thread

Old 06-19-2022, 08:17 PM
Default Need electrical advice!

Very frustrated newbie here on this board and need advice. I have a 68 with the tic toc dash.

The old white bulbs appeared dim (only the two center most lights appeared lit) and lens was pretty scratched so I pulled the gauges out for some replacement parts. Even though the speedo and tach weren’t very bright, everything worked. I replaced with some blue LEDs to match the blue ones I installed on the console. When I replaced, only the same two center most lights function and I lost the right turn signal. Bought some replacement bulb holders thinking it might have something to do, but no. Bought a new printed circuit board and things got worse…only the right-most bulb lights and lost both turn signals. Tried multiple combinations of lights and bulbs to no avail. Tried adding a 2nd ground wire from gauge cluster to firewall and that does nothing. Went back to original circuit board and I have the same two center lights but both blinkers are out. No clue what to try next. It’s been multiple hours over several days.

by the way, I pulled the steering wheel off to get better clearance. Does that make any difference with the turn signals?

any guidance provided would be much appreciated…thanks

Old 06-19-2022, 10:13 PM
Fourth Generation Moderator
October 2009 ROTM
ROTM Winner's Club

Is that a replacement or original harness? What Equpment to you have available?