New Members Area New to Camaro Forums? Start here!

New and overheating

Search this Thread

Old 02-23-2015, 09:22 PM
Default New and overheating

Hi newbie here is search of some education and good people . Names Heather I recently purchased one of my dreams cars after a decent search. 2000 V6 black Camaro, black leather interior and t-tops. How ever my baby has been running hot. Hope to get some insight running out of things to look into. The car in mechanically awesome other the running way to hot. Currently Parked and sad

Old 02-24-2015, 07:12 AM
April 2011 ROTM
ROTM Winner's Club

has the cooling system been flushed and the thermostat changed yet? would be a good start. is the radiator full? are the radiator fans coming on?

Old 02-24-2015, 11:28 AM

Yes thank you It was flushed and new thermostat , radiator and heat core. The coolant is full I took it out today to monitor it. After about 10 minutes or less it runs hot middle line. At that point the antifreeze is boiling over the over fill tank. It really looks like it may be leaking, got to go back and look some more things over to hope that is what it is and where. The car runs great up to the overheat part. Just had my oil change etc. and everyone was pretty impressed . This is what leaves me clueless. Does not sound like a head etc. Oil is clean. idk. But I am in a mission. Long story short I am loosing a-lot of coolant. Also how often should the fan kick on with my car? That is what we are looking into also. How ever if we remove the theromastat is works fine. But the people I got it from said they just put a new one on. Any suggestions

Old 02-24-2015, 05:45 PM
April 2011 ROTM
ROTM Winner's Club