LT1/LT4 Tech 1993-1997

Need to remove old LT1 and install new one

Search this Thread

Old 07-13-2009, 05:01 PM
Default Need to remove old LT1 and install new one

I have a 1994 Camaro Z28, and the people i bought it from put an impala ss engine in it, with a stuck lifter. did not realize it at first so i ended up messing up the cylinder head, now i want to install a Camaro LT1 in it but i have no room to drop it from underneath, so i have to remove it from up top. i am new to this, how do i go about doing this? do i need to remove the exhaust first or what? please help. Also, should i say screw it and just install the LT4 conversion kit, if the block is still good, since i have to take the engine out?

Old 07-13-2009, 06:34 PM
April 2011 ROTM
ROTM Winner's Club

u could try one of these and let me know how it works.
http://www.tpis.com/index.php?module...y=Happy+Hooker
the lt1 can be built to same or more hp for about the same or less cost. send your heads and intake into loyd at elliotts portworksand have him set u up with a cam.
http://www.elliottsportworks.com/lt1.html

Old 07-14-2009, 05:59 PM
1st Gear Member

hey uncle, just took my lt1 out for the first time 3 weeks ago thru the top. 93 camaro. exhaust manifolds/headers, rad, tranny to block bolts, support the tranny with a jack cause it will fall to the ground. then i tried to pull it with a cherry picker but had the accessories still on and it wouldnt come. took all that off turned the motor 45 degrees towards driver and it come out. get a couple guys the night ur ready to pull. never used that happy thing but for 50 bucks might make things easier. i hooked a chain to a head bolt passenger side on the back of the head closer to the intake and ran it across to the front drivers side head. zero slack in the chain then the picker to the chain. good luck.

Old 07-23-2009, 12:27 PM
1st Gear Member