LT1/LT4 Tech 1993-1997

AIR/EGR Delete?

Search this Thread

Old 01-01-2012, 02:28 AM
In the Staging Lanes
Location: Born and Raised in Ironwood Michigan (The Army sends me all over.)
Default AIR/EGR Delete?

OK, I have posted a little about this before and have gotten some very helpful info. Thank you to all who helped me out. Originally I thought that the P/O removed the EGR and AIR from the car, but after some digging around NOPE there they are. He just doesn't have them hooked up due to the aftermarket headers. Now I am digging a little deeper into this and would like to see this whole thing through. Please remember that I am a nOOb when it comes to emissions so I will need things written out in crayon so I can figure this out.

I have done a lot of research using the search bar on this forum, other F-Body forums, and good old and this is what I have come up with. Please correct anything that I am wrong about or add to where I am missing something. I would like to remove my AIR and EGR systems.

1. I DO understand that there will be pretty much no HP gains from this. My reasoning is the P/O installed LT Pacesetter Headers without the emissions hookups, but the "stuff" is still there. I figure if it is not really being used why should it be there.

2. I do know I need to purchase something similar to these minus the one on the left because I don't have to block anything on my headers.

3. Am I wrong in assuming that I need to remove all of the components labeled in the following picture or is there other items I need to remove.

4. I have read conflicting reports about tuning the PCM some have said that Being a '94 I shouldn't have any troubles. Others say if you don't tune DOOM AND GLOOM to you and your car. Regardless, I plan on sending my PCM to LT1 PCM Tuning - Welcome! but I would like to hear what you guys have to say.