Intake, Headers, and Exhaust Custom Exhaust? New Headers? Need Opinions on Intakes? Discuss making your ride breathe better here.

Blower

Search this Thread

Old 04-12-2010, 07:25 AM
Default Blower

I am a somewhat NOOb to engines and cars, but my dad has been teaching me all he can as we are building my 91 RS into a pro street car. My question is what exactly is a blower, I mean usualy when you see one they are on high HP cars, but what exactly are they, an over exagerated intake/throttle body? If anyone could present an answer to this that would be great. Also if you oculd direct me to a good website so I could look at some that would be good also....lastly can you put a blower on a GM 350 motor?

Thanks, Kevin

Old 04-12-2010, 12:51 PM
Tech Droid

Blower is just a type of supercharger, usually a roots type. The name came from the device that was used on the old 61 series of the GM two cycle diesels. The purpose of these blowers was to force air into the cylinder when the intake port becomes uncovered at the bottom of the piston stroke. The 61 referred to the individul cylinder displacemet, ans the prefix number referred to the number of cylindes. So as an example, a 3-71 blower was intended for 3 cylider engine, while a 14-71 was intended for a 14 cylinder engine. Hot rodders adapted these blowers to supercharge passenger car engines. Using a roots blower is not the most efficient way to supercharge an engine, but looks impressive on top of the engine. Purpose built superchargers are much more efficient.

Last edited by z28pete; 04-12-2010 at 01:02 PM.
Old 04-12-2010, 01:00 PM
Senior Moderator
January 2010 ROTM Winner

And if you're building a pro street blower engine, you'll need to keep your compression ratio down to about 8.5:1. In addition to having the lower end built strong enough to take it.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Roots_type_supercharger

Old 04-13-2010, 07:12 AM