General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

short stall at hard throttle?

Search this Thread

Old 11-26-2008, 07:11 PM
Default short stall at hard throttle?

Ok here goes. 96 Z28 auto. just got the car and it has 4:10 gear, CAI, 30lb. injectors, cam but i don't know what size cam, headers 3" exhaust and flows and hypertech programmar came with car. It has a real short stall when hard on the throttle any help would be appreciated. the O2 sensor is not hooked up but plan on fixing that but i'm new to the camaro world mustang guy from way back and don't know if the O2 sensor would cause that or not. i know i need a dyno tune, but do i need to change throttle body and mass air i think so you tell me lol. The guy i got the car from is a half a** at everything. So please help if possible. "Serious post" no B.S. please i know cars just new to camaros only.

Old 11-27-2008, 10:37 AM
2nd Gear member
Default RE: short stall at hard throttle?

[8D] panhead unlike you blue oval fans GM's fuel injection system doesnt require a change to accomodate performance upgrading. however all computer sensors will still be needed (o2) in order for the computer to function properly. this seems to be a shortcoming when the carburated crowd wants to start playing in the fuel injected arena. yes alterations can be made but take more time and money to pull off successfully. it would seem the previous owner may have been part of this crowd and did all the nifty bolt on parts without considering the newfangled computers role in this day and age.