General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

Miss fire

Search this Thread

Old 10-18-2007, 07:48 PM
Default Miss fire

Hope I;m posting this in the rt place I'm new to this. I have a 1991 camaro 3.1. I changed the dis cap wires and ignition mod. the car bougs like crazy when i give it gas it struggles to even move. possible miss fire or wires may be wrong on the dis cap. am I rt or wrong help. thanx

Old 10-18-2007, 08:24 PM
Overdrive Member
Default RE: Miss fire

does it miss when its at idle ?

Old 10-18-2007, 09:10 PM
Tech Droid

Check engine lite lit?

Old 10-18-2007, 10:10 PM
2nd Gear member

[&:] is it running smooth or rough. is it smooth and just lacks power when you mash the go pedal??

Old 10-19-2007, 04:27 PM

Well here's the story on this car hope this helps. Bought it for $500.00 needed a fuel pump so i replaced that also needed a fuel sending unit so i replaced that also. Yes I took the machanics short cut and cut a hole in the truck. Best thing to do when replacing a fuel pump. Oh and this car sat for 10 years. I have not yet replaced the fuel filter. Hope this hellps guys. It sound like it idles fine. It idles at about 800 RPM but choppy my guess is yes then it idles semi bad but not real sputary.I does give a st8 engine sound more like a V8 with headers sound. I dont know how to explain it sorry for that. lol and yes when I mash on the pedal it doesn't like me doing that. Check engine light is not lit. I'm thinking injectors. Could I be rt help me out i've tryed what I think is everything.

Old 10-20-2007, 02:31 AM
2nd Gear member