Engine & Internal Cams, heads, valvetrain, rotating assemblies. Chat about beefing up your insides here.

First time build looking for advice

Search this Thread

Old 12-31-2010, 07:57 PM
Default First time build looking for advice

I'm new to this forum and I am currently in the process of having my first high performance motor rebuilt. I purchased a 1971 camaro with a 400 this summer. The motor ran but had bad rings and valve seals so it is currently at engine builders torned down. I'm new to this so sorry in advance if i'm hacking some of the specs and terms.

Here's the specs:

1971 Camaro Standard with a vinyl top- Split bumber (someone removed the full front bumper and installed the split).

the motor was a 409 sb and had all parts below but was 14:1 compression and had a solid roller cam that was apparently so agressive the powerband was 4,500-8,500 rpm.

HONED- 400 Bow Tie small block bored 40 over- 409 sb
Eagle Forged crankshaft
6" Rods
NEW-Keith Black Forged Pistons- 10.5:1
NEW-Competiton Cams Hydraulic Roller-I believe a .3 duration- .6 lift
NEW Roller lifters
FRESHENED- Brodix 11X Aluminum Spread Bore Heads-Spread Port Exhasut
I was told these heads are usually used on late model dirt track and drag cars so they aren't the most ideal for street use do to the high rpm power range. Meaning I needed to have a large cam to get all the power out of them.
Weiand Team G Intake
MSD Ignition
NEW 850 Holley DBL Pumper

Headman Spread Port Long tube Headers- 1" 7/8"- 3 1/2 collector
Flowmaster 3" exhaust down spouts before the axle

Turbo 350- we suspect the stall is 3,500-4,000

12 Bolt Moser rearend posi- 4:11

He is thinking somewhere between 540-575 hp and around 600lb feet of torque on 92 octane.

I would be curious to your feedback on if my engine builder is going in the right direction?? He was referred to me by a close friend who knows him very well. Thanks for your help!

Old 12-31-2010, 08:32 PM
Fourth Generation Moderator
October 2009 ROTM