Engine & Internal Cams, heads, valvetrain, rotating assemblies. Chat about beefing up your insides here.

Bought a 69, What motor is it?

Search this Thread

Old 07-15-2006, 01:21 AM
Default Bought a 69, What motor is it?

I bought a 1969 GM car (i got out of hondas) to drag race from a young man for 24K. He said there was a lot of goodies and there is. it is back halfed with a 10 point cage. nice purple paint with his old sponsers stickers on it, nice intirior with nice tin work... to much to say. what i realy like is the motor. he set it up himself with front and midplates, aluminum heads, victor intake. 4 barel carb. braided line, home made headers. it realy suprised me when he started it up. i dont remember if said it was a small or a big block. i'm kinda new to domestics but not that new. he also said it produces 580hp at the flywheel, this is a naturally asperated motor. what kind of motor can make that power? i can discribe to you what it looks like, i'll have some pics soon... the valve covers have 4 bolts each. the exhaust 0-00-0 has that pattern the intake has -00-00- patern, distributor in the back 3 freeze plugs on the side, water pump looks really accessable, a friend said it looks like a big block because it is really big, but who knows. thanks for the help

Old 07-15-2006, 02:52 AM
2nd Gear member
Default RE: Bought a 69, What motor is it?

sounds nice man, got a nice car there!

Old 07-15-2006, 09:34 AM
3rd Gear Member

you have just described almost every V-8 engine GM has ever made LOL. if the rear of the engine is fairly clean and easy to get to, get a flash light and look around the rear of the block close to where the tranny bolts up. the cid will be stamped there. sick

Old 07-15-2006, 03:15 PM

I looked in the back and could not find any stamping. how do you put pics on with your reply. i have some engine shots i can post. thanks a bunch

Old 07-30-2006, 07:23 PM
1st Gear Member