Detailing Discuss detailing your ride within.

sequence???

Old 03-23-2008, 07:05 AM
1st Gear Member
Default sequence???

what order are you supposed to do all the detailing stuff in? sorry, i am new to actually wanting or caring to take care of my cars paint lol. i know your supposted to wash and dry first. then i think claybar? then maybe wax? but where does polish come in? and is there anything else? i know the shiny stuff for the tires and then the wheel cleaner. sorry but my mom knows i am into this kind of thing now and so i now have a good start on a whole arsenal of meguiars products. which is awesome but i dunno exactly how to use it all? please help.

Old 03-23-2008, 07:29 AM
4th Gear Member
Default RE: sequence???

Read instuctions and follow them or the simple way. Wash & dry car and wax on & wax off. Don't make a simple job sound like rocket science.[sm=icon_blah.gif][sm=icon_blah.gif][sm=icon_blah.gif]

Old 03-23-2008, 11:40 AM
1st Gear Member

kk thanks.
i just wanted to know if there was like any tips or tricks?

Old 03-23-2008, 12:14 PM
Ninja Administrator

do the waxing one panel at a time. judging by your sig, your car is about 4x the size of a typical camaro so this is especially important to avoid streaking

Old 03-23-2008, 01:33 PM
1st Gear Member

haha thanks

i just want one of those cars that people are like wow that looks nice. i am willing to work for it too just dont really know how. dont wanna mess it up

Old 03-23-2008, 08:19 PM

Hi keith_AE2010,

I'm new to this forum, but have been detailing cars for probably longer than you've been alive Typically, when you do a complete detail, the order of events would look like this:

1. Wash

2. Using the wash suds as lubricant, clay the entire car. Then, wash it again and rinse it. At this point, you'll notice the water almost sheeting off the car.