Detailing Discuss detailing your ride within.

Cleaning up my new Camaro

Search this Thread

Old 11-04-2008, 09:20 AM
In the Staging Lanes
Default Cleaning up my new Camaro

I just got a '94 black Z28. The car is in good condition, but I want to make it look good for a photo shoot with a friends car. It looks like the guys did a crappy wax job on it before he sold to me. I guess i will clean that off with some Dawn. I have never used a claybar before so I want to give that a shot. Should I use warm water with it, or buy a specific lubricant?

Also, I have turtle Hardshell paste wax already. I see everyone talking about spray on, is it better?

I have never detailed a car before so I am excited to see my new car nice and shiny.

Also, I have a small area where the clear coat is chipped in the back. I think I might just try waxing it up to protect it.

I have a mothers powerball that I used to use on my rims. Are they good better for buffing off wax then a towel? Should I get a new one for doing my paint since the one I have is a bit dirty?

Are buffers like what I can buy from sears the best thing for wax?

Thanks for the help, I will put up some pics when I am done.

Old 11-04-2008, 09:38 AM
In the Staging Lanes
Default RE: Cleaning up my new Camaro

i use turtle wax all the time. requires a little more effort than spray but gives a better finish. If you really wanna make it shine but a glaze on it afterwards. I use 3M Imperial Hand Glaze

Old 11-04-2008, 01:17 PM
3rd Gear Member