93-02 V6 Tech V6 Camaro General Topics.

Car will not start when cam sensor is plugged in

Search this Thread

Old 03-14-2018, 12:44 AM
Default Car will not start when cam sensor is plugged in

I have a 1994 Camaro with a 3.4 engine my issue is one day I got in it to go to town when i tried to start it it began popping and snapping like it was way out of time.I thought good grief yet another problem!
So I broke out the Solus Ultra and plugged er in..... no codes! So I figured well lets start with the maintenance since I had not had the car very long and bought it from a buy here pay here lot and I have no background on the car so I bought new plugs and wires, fuel filter and air filter. I installed everything and still same thing. I then replaced all 3 coils and the module.... no change....well actually it did start for a hot second then died I figured well the timing chain must have went out so I pulled the cover and it was spot on it was a tad sloppy so i replaced it as well then put it back together still same popping and backfiring!!!!!!!! Ok so just for the record Im 54 yrs old and have been a tech most of my life and have seen some crazy things on cars and trucks and for the most part have over come them, that being said I've had occasion where sensors go bad and computers not picking up on it and beings this car is that stupid OBD 1.5 junk I suspected just that so I replaced both crank sensors and the cam sensor as well......same deal!!!!!! Next I replaced the PCM and of course no change.
So one sunday Im standing there scratching my head wondering why in all my years I've figured out every dang no start car and/or truck I've ever worked on and here I sit with my own dang car whopping my ***!!!