93-02 V6 Tech V6 Camaro General Topics.

To 3.8 automatic owners, some questions about the auto

Search this Thread

Old 07-22-2007, 12:10 PM
1st Gear Member
Default To 3.8 automatic owners, some questions about the auto

So I've always heard that manually shifting our auto dosen't do anything becuase it's going to shift from first to second, second to third, etc...whether you shift it or not. I figured I'd test it out. I put it in first and just accelerated normally. I held it at 6100rpm for about 5 secondsand it was not shifting into second, it shifted when I shifted into second. Maybe I'm wrong but I thought they shifted before that. Also, if you shift down from drive to second or second to first does it drop into that gear as soon as you shift?

Old 07-22-2007, 04:30 PM
In the Staging Lanes
Default RE: To 3.8 automatic owners, some questions about the auto

I'm no expert on this, but my observation has been just what you saw. In 1st, it stays in first. In second, the same, although it might start off in first. Have not tried that, but on some other vehicles it seems to start in second. A downshift will drop you down a gear, and I personally would not even try more than one gear because of potential damage to the engine and tranny.
Once in a Corvette I tried the quarter mile shifting manually, and then letting the auto do it. As I recall they were about the same time.

Old 07-22-2007, 05:06 PM
3rd Gear Member