3.8L 4th gen Alignment Problems?

Search this Thread

Old 03-05-2011, 09:45 PM
Default 3.8L 4th gen Alignment Problems?

A few weeks ago I took the 2002 3.8L 4th gen in to do an alignment. I am a student at the Automotive program at SSC so I did everything personally along with the help of my teacher. The car pulled to the right so I took it in to fix that..........or so I though.

I took the car in and all the specs were off in the front and the rear was decent. The rear didn't have any specifications for adjustment, and I hadn't searched around on what to do to get around that on forums so I just left it alone. I went over to the front and set the Camber, then Caster, and finally Toe.

I got the Camber and Toe perfect, and then only the right side caster was off. So I tried adjusting it, for about 3 hours , nothing. The Right side was reading 5.7 which was inside the specifications and the left was reading 6.1 which was out of spec. No matter which way I adjusted the caster it would either go high in to the 8s or just stay at 6.1. I couldn't get it to read any lower than that.

The car is still pulling to the right, pretty bad. It's only hit a few medians and been in a very minor bumper to bumper contact (literally just an inch of paint scraped off in the front. It's riding on stock suspension, with absolutely no mods. The tires are also brand new and have been rotated already so it's definitely not dog tracking/irregular wear.

Do you guys think it needs new shocks in order to be fixed, or is it something else? From what I know (car is my brothers not mine personally) these shocks/springs have been in there all 100k miles the car has.

Any suggestions/help would be appreciated. I really want to get this pull off the car. And if it needs new shocks, probably going to just get it dropped and do everything new/right.

Old 03-06-2011, 08:15 AM
Fourth Generation Moderator
October 2009 ROTM
ROTM Winner's Club