SS wont start

Search this Thread

Old 06-22-2008, 01:58 PM
Default SS wont start

I just bought a 01 SS last week and now when I go to start it, it doesn't turn over. I turn it to the first accessory click and the dash lights and radio come on, etc. but when I try to turn it over from there nothing happens! There is no clicking, nothing....silence! What is going on here??!!!! Please help!!!!

I just took it to the dealership where I bought it (dodge dealership) because my SES light had come on. They had to reconnect the #6 spark plug to it's wiring. They said that they ran the codes and there was nothing there after they corrected that. What would cause this not to turn over?????

My husband used to take care of my camaros but he is no longer with me so I am on my own. I am not an idiot when it comes to cars, especially my camaros but I'm not good at diagnosing problems. I am hoping someone can help me out.

Old 06-22-2008, 08:29 PM
Tech Droid
Default RE: SS wont start

Is the security light coming on when you attempt to start the engine?

Old 06-22-2008, 11:17 PM

No. it the security light just comes on with all of the lights and then goes off....BUT last week it was staying on after I turned the car on and while driving around! It would later go off. I didn't know why that would stay on.

My little brother said it could be from dirty battery cables. I have a battery with side-mount cables and I think i would need to take the plastic covers off to clean them. I will try to do that tomorrow and see what happens.

What does the security light have to do with this issue? I am just asking.

Old 06-23-2008, 10:10 AM
Overdrive Member

Security on the car can disable the starter and fuel injectors if your car doesn't think the correct key is being used. Something to do with the chip/resistor in the key. Maybe someone can come fill in the blanks.

Old 06-23-2008, 12:02 PM
Tech Droid

The way it works:
1) The ignition key has a resistor pellet embedded in it