new owner/member

Search this Thread

Old 09-17-2009, 06:02 PM
Default new owner/member

Hello from Iraq!
I just entered the new world of the Camaro. Purchased a 1997 Camaro RS 3.8L with 76K miles for $5500. in great condition. only driven durin the summer and has never seen road salt. It has a K&N air filter and a Z28 exhaust on it. Now i'm new with the Camaro lingo and ****. I'm wanting more power. my first thought was a turbo? then a Supercharger came to mind. i'm one of those ppl who goes the whole nine yards or no where at all. if that makes any sense. can you guyz help me with these things. i searched for a camaro supercharger and it brought me here. i read the thread from jan. about a kid who bought a supercharger from a friend of a friend then confusion ensued. help me with this will ya guyz?

Old 09-18-2009, 02:25 AM

Welcome back brother!
I too just recently came back from Iraq.

Im about to be new to the camaro world too in a way.
As far as go-fast parts for the V6 its super $$$ to do forced induction from what Ive researched so far. Better to trade it/ sell it for a V8 model is a common response im reading to these types of questions so far. Dosen't mean the car cant be modded but ultimate performance is going to come from a V8.

There is a nice project V6 on here somewhere that was pretty sweet. A after market boosted V6 runs head to head almost with stock LS1's from what Ive seen so far. I used to ride with my brother in his 97 Anniv. Ed Camaro Conv. w/ a supercharged 3.8. It was quick but an automatic. It managed to beat some stock T/A's and plenty of imports. (he later bought a 94 T/A 6spd that was leather and super clean)