New to driving manual - need help reversing

Search this Thread

Old 06-19-2008, 11:03 PM
Default New to driving manual - need help reversing

If any of you have seen my posts, you'll know that I recently (less than 2 days) bought a 4th gen SS.

This is my FIRST time driving a manual transmission.

Anyway, I am learning very quickly how to drive the car straight, starting up hills, etc..

But my biggest problem is reversing, and Iknow I am making a bigger deal out of it than it is.

It just seems that when I release the clutch and press the gas, the car moves way too quickly backwards.. when I don't put enough gas in it, I stall out.

So it's either moving backwards quickly and worrying about hitting something behind me or losing control, or stalling out.

How do I reverse slowly without stalling the car?

I know this sounds elementary.. and honestly - it is.

Thanks guys..

Old 06-20-2008, 01:24 AM
In the Staging Lanes
Default RE: New to driving manual - need help reversing

Slip the clutch a little, and give it less gas than you have been giving it. It'll back up without giving it gas, just let the clutch out nice and slow. You'll get the feel for it in no time.

Old 06-20-2008, 02:46 AM
1st Gear Member

If you feel the car starting to vibrate or shake, just let off the gas a bit and add in some more clutch. It took me only a few days to get manual down and a few more days to nearly master it. Good luck.

Old 06-20-2008, 02:58 AM
The Jazz Man
ROTM Winner's Club

If you want to get good fast, drive a 5 speed Aerostar for a month like I did. That thing was rediculous. It was dad's work van, and the tranny was old and leaked. So he filled it with a super thick oil, which made it a work out to shift when it was cold.

Old 06-20-2008, 10:16 AM