Dealer made new keys for my 94 -- sort of.

Search this Thread

Old 04-10-2013, 09:55 AM
2nd Gear member
Default Dealer made new keys for my 94 -- sort of.

A rare alignment of planets had me, my Camaro, money, and time come together at my local Chevy dealer yesterday. I wanted a pair of keys cut to code for my 94 since I have no spares. Very dangerous situation, LOL. I've been driving the car for 2 1/2 years so it was time.

Parts guy gives me the standard warning about the passkey lock cylinder and how it might have been changed, what the code download fee is ($10), key costs ($35), might not work, non-refundable, blah, blah, blah. Yeah, I know all this.

So i say how about I pay the $10 for you to download the key codes and then you show me the codes and I decided it they look like they match my existing keys. If they look like a match we go ahead; if not, I bail.

He looked at me like I was from Mars. Dude, the key code isn't rocket science. It's been covered in the GM service manual general info section for years. I even look at my ignition key and make an educated guess as to what the code will be. I also tell hem that I've measured the resistor pellet and it's X ohms.

He sees that I'm not a typical clueless customer so he agrees and goes to download the codes. He does tell me that he doesn't need to know the resistance because he has an interrogator to do that. Fine, good, I say, let's do it.

He comes back with the key codes and I was off 1 digit on one of the tumblers, LOL. I'd say I'm pretty good and at least I now know that all the lock cylinders are the originals.