'95 Z28 overheating problem

Search this Thread

Old 02-13-2012, 07:56 PM
Default '95 Z28 overheating problem

My son (16) bought a 95 Z28. Road tested fine and ran good when he bought it. Blew a radiator last week. When we replaced it we found that the water pump was out. So today we replaced the water pump and got it all back together. In an attempt to flush the radiator it seems there is still something not right. Hoses and thermostat replaced.

Had the cap on and was able to get pressure on the hoses but the temp went high. Shut it off to cool a bit to get the cap off to see if we had good flow. Seems not to be good flow but there is hot water coming from the top of engine into the radiator at the fill cap (this is where i say I have some older automotive experience but i do not know where this flow comes from).

As it is now, first thought I have is there something else that can fail that would cause the water pump to fail that may now have destroyed this new refurb pump. (just my first thought).

I know there are many that understand this car and system and I had to dialog back and forth on these forums. so if anyone is willing to talk to me directly i am willing to make the phone or other connection.

I would like to get this thing running again for my son since he is do upset over this. He's feeling he just wasted his $$$

Any help is appreciated.

Thanks,
Scott

Old 02-13-2012, 08:39 PM
Tech Droid

Was the engine overheating when the old radiator blew?
Have you bled the cooling system when you refilled it?
Except for leaks water pumps usually do not go bad, what was wrong with yours?
Are the fans coming on?

Old 02-13-2012, 08:57 PM
3rd Gear Member

sounds like air in the system or faulty stat.

Old 02-13-2012, 08:59 PM
April 2011 ROTM
ROTM Winner's Club