4th gen buying tips

Search this Thread

Old 09-06-2010, 02:34 PM
Default 4th gen buying tips

Hi all, just curious about what to look for when buying a 4th gen. I am basically an automotive noob and not sure what else to look for besides making sure it runs and all the accessories work. I'm sure I'm missing something, any advice would be much appreciated.
Thanks
-Matt

Old 09-06-2010, 03:33 PM
Fourth Generation Moderator
October 2009 ROTM
ROTM Winner's Club

You really need to be carful as the Camaro is a favorite of young guys. I have been in and out of the used car bizz for 20 years. I started looking for a 4th gen about 4 years ago. Man there is a lot of junk out there. Cars that have not been maintained that in my opinion need a restoration. I was even looking at cars that where advertize as cherry only to see something that was going to need a ton of work. I did find a few well maintain units but the price was out of my budget.

I see new members here all the time that just have a nighmare of a time with their "new" Camaros.

You really need to find a mechainc hopfully through a family member or a good friend that can look the car over. Even a decent mechanic will pick up on stuff and they will not be effected by rose colored glasses. Thats when you see this really great looking red 97 RS with black racing strips and you want it so bad you miss the puddle of tranny fluid under it and the lack of coolant in the radiator.

Old 09-06-2010, 05:07 PM

Ya, that is probably going to be my best bet. I do have a friend who has worked on Jags for 20 years, problem is he works all the time and has two kids, but maybe I can catch him on a free day ha.

Old 09-06-2010, 05:13 PM