82-92 Wheels, Tires and Exterior

having problems settin up my tires and suspension for the strip.

Search this Thread

Old 03-04-2012, 03:51 AM
Default having problems settin up my tires and suspension for the strip.

I bought a set of wheel off a guy for $50. 14" 235 fronts and 15" 295 rear. I'm not sure the offset of them, but its near center of the wheel. After installing them i realized that not only are both rear wheels going to stick out at least an inch and a half, but one sticks out further then the other. Is there a common problem with 3rd gen z28's that could cause this? I'm kind of new to this part of the car and could use some advice. It's a stock rear end(for now), and as far as i know factory suspension still.
For a while now i have also noticed that after a burnout on the street it feels like the rear end of the car isn't going straight. Not bad it's just a slight feeling the back wheels are turning. It's almost so small that i thought it was just in my mind. Now i'm thinking maybe all this ties in together. Thanks to anyone who reads..

Old 03-04-2012, 11:10 AM
Tech Droid

The rear axle is held in position under the car by the panhard bar. If the ride height changes the axle will shift either right if body is lowered, or left if the body is raised. As the springs age or the car accelerates the axle will shift right. Under acceleration or deceleration, the axle housing is prevented from spinning by the central torque arm, and by the lower control links.