82-92 V8 Tech V8 Camaro General Topics.

roots style blower?

Search this Thread

Old 02-07-2013, 08:46 AM
Default roots style blower?

so i recently got a camaro that needed some adjustments with the carb and now i am thinking about putting on a supercharger to it. i was told its a 93 gm 350. the previous owner installed an edelbrock intake, edelbrock carb and a set of mild cams (sorry can't remember the brand). i have been looking and between a whipple, centrifical, or roots and they all seem to end up being around the same price. the car does already have a cowl hood on it which is making want to lean toward the roots blower. . . sorry if the info i gave was not enough but im still learning as i go. i know the roots have a serpentine belt and my engine has 3 seperte ones so i would have to change that some how. any feedback on certain blowers to look for? which ones to stay away from? would i be able to handle the install? thanks all...

Old 02-07-2013, 11:07 AM
Senior Moderator
January 2010 ROTM Winner

What's your budget? There's more to it than simply slapping a blower on top of an old worn engine. You need to tear the engine down to the last nut and bolt and rebuild it as a blower motor. You'll want a stronger crank, stronger rods, 4 bolt mains, lower compression blower pistons, a proper cam, and better heads. With engine, blower, and accessories, it'll be about a $7k engine provided you can do some work yourself.

Old 02-07-2013, 05:08 PM
4th Gear Member

to parrot 69 that is the issue. You can't just slap on forced induction or even nitrous. At least if you want to keep the engine running. With gas prices appearing to be locked at $4 for premium and maybe higher, you might want to consider power and economy, and that requires modern technology.