87 Iroc z z28 restoration

Search this Thread

Old 01-09-2012, 09:04 PM
In the Staging Lanes
Default 87 Iroc z z28 restoration

I picked up this 87 Iroc z z28 convertible. It is a 305 tpi with a 5 speed manual transmission. It was sitting behind a guys scrap shop for the last 4 years. I saw it on craigslist and went to check it out. The convertible top is damaged slightly, and the back plastic window was caved in last winter from being burried in snow. The interior carpet and seats are basicly junk, and needs a new top. The body is in really good shape other than needing a paint job. I havent heard it run yet, he said the fuel pump was probably gone and the gas is probably bad. Im having it towed to my buddy's shop tommorow, to take a better look underneath and probably do the fuel pump. Im not a mechanic, but i had a 92 25th anaversery z28 automatic when i was 17 so i want that feeling of the old z28 back, (my dad sold that one on me). So i cant find much on the frame work of the old top, becasue chevy sent them out to be converted or something like that. The passenger side hinge/arm/frame thing has a bolt that was striped out of it, and it seems to be a pivot point and the bolt dosent back out of it, so im not sure how im gonna fix that, i saw the whole passenger side piece on ebay for $400 but i dont want to spend that just because the bolt is striped out. Also the first bow after the top of the windshield seems to sag down? Does anyone know where to find info on the workings of the convertible top? And my speedometer only goes to 70? is that normal for a 87 iroc z? any info would help.

Old 01-09-2012, 10:20 PM
Senior Administrator
February 2012 ROTM
May 2012 ROTM

i know a friend of mine has a bunch of convertibles. He cuts all his cars up so you might be able to get some parts from him. I'll call him and see what he's got available. If not I think places like classic industries would have all the stuff you need OER

Old 01-10-2012, 10:08 AM