new to the third gen could use some advise

Search this Thread

Old 03-24-2012, 10:20 PM
Default new to the third gen could use some advise

this being my first post here ill give a little info before the questions. i just picked up a 1985 IrocZ body super clean in need of painting, 305 HO 4bbl motor running fairly smooth w/ 77k miles, M5 shifting great but clutch is loose bad, suspension seems to be needing bushings, shocks and struts, interior is 8/10 but upper dash is trash, weather seals still keeping car dry but will need replacing w/ paint. I myself am a body may by trade and a LS motor hobbist. built a few 400-500hp LS motors. Fairly new to the smallblock world and could use a little help. now to the questions
1. best place to find a upper dash pad? id like a new one if not to pricey
2. whats the best way to do away w/ all the smog equip?
3. does any one have any links to a build-up? looking to do a intake and carb now and later a cam and headers. just wanting a nice steet car NOT a race car.
4. suggestions for the usual tune up stuff like dist. cap, rotor, plugs, wires, t-stat, belts, hoses, fluids

anyone who would take the time to give some advice? it would be greatly appreciated. thanks Mark

Old 03-25-2012, 08:27 AM
4th Gear Member

Originally Posted by bulldogss
this being my first post here ill give a little info before the questions. i just picked up a 1985 IrocZ body super clean in need of painting, 305 HO 4bbl motor running fairly smooth w/ 77k miles, M5 shifting great but clutch is loose bad, suspension seems to be needing bushings, shocks and struts, interior is 8/10 but upper dash is trash, weather seals still keeping car dry but will need replacing w/ paint. I myself am a body may by trade and a LS motor hobbist. built a few 400-500hp LS motors. Fairly new to the smallblock world and could use a little help. now to the questions
1. best place to find a upper dash pad? id like a new one if not to pricey