Bringing RPM down (continued)

Search this Thread

Old 07-20-2012, 08:08 PM
In the Staging Lanes
Default Bringing RPM down (continued)

I posted a few weeks ago regarding high idle. The fast idle screw is set on the second notch on the choke cam. The idle screw isn't even touching the throttle. At 4° btc, she idles just under a 1000 rpms. Smog tried to tell me it needs to be at 8° btc and idle at 500 since my emmissions sticker is missing from under the hood. I took it to another smog shop and recomended getting a low pressure electric fuel pump (my motor is a 350 out of an 88 pickup) and a regulator with a return line to tank that runs off vacuum. The tech said that he has ran those set ups on one of his camaros because the fuel pressure would build up at idle.

Old 07-20-2012, 10:37 PM
Tech Droid

Fuel presure does not cause high idle speed. If anything it wiil cause flooding and lower speed or stalling. Somehow too much air is getting into the engine. I am not a carb expert, but either there is a vacuum leak or the carb is messed up. What carb is on the engine?

Old 07-20-2012, 11:50 PM
Senior Moderator
January 2010 ROTM Winner

Originally Posted by anthony7888
I posted a few weeks ago regarding high idle. The fast idle screw is set on the second notch on the choke cam. The idle screw isn't even touching the throttle.
The bold part is your fast idle problem. When the choke mechanism is working correctly, the fast ilde screw should be stepped off the last choke cam notch. Find out why your choke cam isn't rotating all the way to the open position (choke not opening all the way, linkage stuck), then your idle will drop and the linkage will be resting against the curb idle screw like it's supposed to. Poke that choke cam down out of the way with your finger or screwdriver, and you'll see what I'm talking about.
He has an Edelbrick carb by the way.

Old 07-21-2012, 02:06 AM
In the Staging Lanes