Turning signals dont work

Search this Thread

Old 08-30-2009, 03:14 PM
Default Turning signals dont work

I am not an electrical techie so please try to keep explanation simple.

Problem:

I have a 1970 Camaro that I just purchased and has a variety of electrical gremlins.
Any help is appreciated

Old 08-30-2009, 03:19 PM
April 2011 ROTM
ROTM Winner's Club

soo what the problems?? need u to tell us whats wrong before we can help.

Old 08-30-2009, 06:11 PM

My first thought would be to check the fuses,

Next check the light bulbs,

Worst case would be that you need to replace the turn signal switch unit inside the steering column.

Old 08-30-2009, 09:32 PM
February 2009 ROTM
ROTM Winner's Club

Do any of the bulbs light up when you move the handle to either side?
If one bulb on a side is burned out they will not flash. Make sure both front and rear bulbs are good. If the bulbs light up but do not flash, check your flasher. It is mounted under the dash, there is one for turn signals and one for hazard flashers. Both are round, approximately one inch in diameter usually made of metal but some are plastic body. Also check the wiring connector on the steering column. It is a black flat plastic part with a number of wires running to it. Make certain the connectors are clean. If all the above are good it is probably the switch.

Old 09-05-2009, 04:23 PM

I have all the bulbs working now and still no flashing. The 1970 has only one round flasher fuse and that was replaced. Is the switch in the column a difficult process? If you have a link to instructions that would be helpful. Thanks all.

Old 09-05-2009, 06:07 PM
April 2011 ROTM
ROTM Winner's Club

are the lights lighting up when the blinkers are turned on?

Old 09-05-2009, 06:17 PM
Second Generation Moderator
Feb 2010 ROTM winner
Jan 2013 ROTM winner
ROTM Winner's Club